SV06 Stringing

I have tried temperatures from 175C to 215C, retraction distances from .5mm to 2mm, retraction speeds from 30mm/s to 50mm/s, and build plate temperatures from 45C to 60C. Maybe I didn’t strike the right balance, but I’m struggling to print a PLA retraction test without noticeable stringing. I’m new to this, and I’m not sure if I don’t understand the limitations or I don’t understand the settings completely. It seemed to work better at the lower end of my range which doesn’t make sense with other people’s PLA temp towers. 175C worked the best and it is not in the recommended range. Sorry if I was unclear with anything, and I appreciate any advice on this.

1 Like

@Fractal
Could you pls provide a picture of the string of the printed model for a closer look?

Meanwhile, it may be that the temperature measurement of the thermistor is not accurate, and the temperature displayed on the screen is lower than the actual temperature.

So you could check whether the read of the nozzle thermistor is normal and let me know if not, (please note that it must be measured at normal room temperature, a feedback picture would be much appreciated!)
Method of testing the resistance value: turn the multimeter to the 200KΩ, and put the pen of the multimeter on the terminal of the thermistor wire, refer to the pic below.

1 Like

I have suspicions that the temperatures promoted by the filament manufacturers are based on non-all metal hot ends. I’ve also found that I can print PLA successfully at 175C and I even printed PETG at 190C. Right now, I’m testing samples from 11 different manufacturers and not one sample has required the temperature as specified by the manufacturer on my SV06. Try 5-10C lower than the lowest rated temp from the manufacturer. Right now, I’m printing SUNLU at 185C and American Filament at 180C and getting fantastic results.

As for the bed temp, I do all of my tests with 60C except for PETG, which I ran at 70C.